This Timeless Arts Haiku and Tanka workshop series runs on the Zoom platform, which is accessed by simply following the links we email to you. Clicking through brings you into the video workshop! This is our second Timeless Arts workshop, and a written, non-video version of the first season of Timeless Arts is also available for autumn/fall 2021.

Timeless Arts Haiku & Tanka Season Two (Zoom Workshop)

 
Format:
 
There are three elements to the Timeless Arts Haiku & Tanka Zoom Workshops
 
1) Two carefully chosen mostly visual prompts are shared with participants, taken from across the arts in their broadest sense. Prompts can be quotes from literature, or images of classic design, paintings or drawings, and so on. The prompts are sent early so that participants can choose to start writing before the next stage.
 
2) A Zoom workshop brings everyone together, and briefly discusses the prompts before some short writing time. Then there is time for tutor feedback and workshopping of two poems for each participant.
 
3) Tutor's comments are additionally summarised in writing for the group. This means that the workshop itself is more relaxed with these notes provided afterwards. 
 
Dates & Times:
 
The four workshops take place during the 1st and 3rd Thursdays of November & December 2021, from 5.15 pm - 6.45 pm London time (= 12.15 - 1.45 pm East Coast of America). Please see further down the page for times in different cities. Workshop dates are as follows:
 
Thursday 4th November
Thursday 18th November
Thursday 2nd December
Thursday 16th December
 

Level: These workshops are suitable for those with experience of writing haiku or tanka, or complete beginners. They work well when we have a mix of abilities and experience. It is also as much about enjoying the art as the writing!

 

Group Size: We keep the group small, with a maximum of 6 people. 

 

Tutor: Your workshop leader is Alan Summers, lead tutor at Call of the Page.

 

Host: The workshop host and facilitator is Karen Hoy, course director.

 

Time of day: The time of day the workshops start varies according to which time zone you are in. Please see the list below below, for examples. 

 

Nairobi, 7.15 pm

Paris, 6.15 pm

London, 5.15 pm

New York, 12.15 pm 

Chicago, 11.15 am

Los Angeles, 9.15 am

 

 

Full cost: £148.00 (approx US$205)

 

Early bird cost: £140.00 (approx US194) if booking by Thursday 21st October 2021.  

 

Booking

By booking you agree to accept our Terms and Conditions. Thank you!

Timeless Arts Haiku & Tanka Zoom Workshops Season Two
140.00 GBP

A place on the Timeless Arts Haiku & Tanka Zoom Workshop, Season Two, starting Thursday November 4th 2021.

Please note this is the Zoom video workshop, not the written version of the Timeless Arts course. Thank you.

TAWSeason2Nov2021

FAQs

What if I book but can't make all of the Zoom workshops?

 

If you are unable to make the workshop, then we will miss you, but you will still be sent the prompts and may submit two haiku and/or tanka in writing instead, which we will read out and discuss in the Zoom class, and your poems will also be added to the rest of the group's for the written notes stage with the key points of the discussion.

 

I've never used Zoom and am not confident about the technology.

 

We will happily do a test Zoom with you and talk you through the process in the lead up to the workshop. Just email us at admin@callofthepage.org and we will set this up.

Visitor Counter

Click here for more info about the Chippenham's Chosen Words project.

We were on Sue Davies' show on BBC Radio Wiltshire (104.3FM) on Saturday 20th February, and will be again later in March, to talk about Chippenham's Chosen Words.

Newsletter Sign-Up

Please click here to sign up for occasional emails and newsletters from Call of the Page. Thank you!

PrintPrint | Sitemap
© Call of the Page