Timeless Arts Haiku and Tanka workshops run on the Zoom platform, which is accessed by simply following the links we email to you. Clicking through brings you into the video workshop!

Timeless Arts Haiku & Tanka Workshops

Just two places left!
 
Format: There are three elements to the Timeless Arts Haiku & Tanka Workshops
 
1) Two carefully chosen mostly visual prompts are shared with participants, taken from across the arts in their broadest sense. Prompts can be quotes from literature, or images of classic design, paintings or drawings, and so on. The prompts are sent early so that participants can choose to start writing before the next stage.
 
2) A Zoom workshop brings everyone together, and briefly discusses the prompts before some short writing time. Then there is time for tutor feedback and workshopping of two poems for each participant.
 
3) Tutor's comments are additionally put into writing for the group. This means that the workshop itself is more relaxed with these notes provided afterwards. 
 
Dates & Times:
 
The four workshops take place during the 1st and 3rd Thursdays of November & December 2020, from 5 pm - 6.30 pm London time (= noon - 1.30 pm East Coast of America). Please see further down the page for times in different cities. Workshop dates are as follows:
 
Thursday 5th November
Thursday 19th November
Thursday 3rd December
Thursday 17th Deceber
 

Level: These workshops are suitable for those with experience of writing haiku or tanka, or complete beginners. They work well when we have a mix of abilities and experience. It is also as much about enjoying the art as the writing!

 

Group Size: We keep the group small, with a maximum of 7 people. 2 places remaining.

 

Tutor: Your workshop leader is Alan Summers, lead tutor at Call of the Page.

 

Host: The workshop host and facilitator is Karen Hoy, course director.

 

Time of day: The time of day the workshops start varies according to which time zone you are in. Please see the list below below, for examples. 

 

Nairobi, 7 pm

Paris, 6 pm

London, 5 pm

New York, 12 noon

Chicago, 11 am

Los Angeles, 9 am

 
 

Cost: The set of four workshops with written feedback is £120 (approximately US$180).

 

Booking

By booking you agree to accept our Terms and Conditions. Thank you!

Timeless Arts Haiku & Tanka Workshops
120.00 GBP

A place on the Timeless Arts Haiku & Tanka Workshops, starting Thursday November 5th 2020.

TAWNov2020

FAQs

What if I book but can't make all of the Zoom workshops?

 

If you are unable to make the workshop, then we will miss you, but you will be sent the prompts and may submit two haiku and/or tanka in writing instead and your poems will be added to the rest of the group's for the written feedback stage.

 

I've never used Zoom and am not confident about the technology.

 

We will happily do a test Zoom with you and talk you through the process in the lead up to the workshop. Just email us at admin@callofthepage.org and we will set this up.

Visitor Counter

Newsletter Sign-Up

Please click here to sign up for occasional emails and newsletters from Call of the Page. Thank you!

PrintPrint | Sitemap
© Call of the Page