The Pursuit of One-Line Haiku

 
A NEW COURSE

                  

Course title:     The Pursuit of One-Line Haiku

 

Format:            Six fortnightly 1 hour 40 minute Zoom workshops.

 

Level:               To get the most from this course, you will need some Intermediate to

                         Advanced experience on three-line haiku, but can be a total beginner or

                         more experienced at "one-liners". Please get in touch if you would like

                         some advice about its suitability.

 

Dates:             Friday 24th September to Friday 3rd December 2021.

 

Times:        ​     = 9.10 am to 10.50 am Chicago      

                          = 10.10 am to 11.50 am  New York/Toronto  

                          =  3.10 pm to 4.50 pm  London 

                          = 10.10 pm to 11.50 pm Singapore/Perth

 

This series of six Zoom workshops runs fortnightly, and is a chance for up to six poets, with experience in three line haiku (who might have completed two or more of our classes formerly, or be at the equivalent level) to venture into, or build on, writing that most concise of poems, the one-line haiku!

 

There will be no prompts for these sessions, although if you are a beginner at one-line haiku, we will be offering an exercise to get you started for the first session. You are then simply invited to bring along two one-line haiku (which can be very rough drafts). For the subsequent sessions you can also opt to bring rewrites for refinements, and through the course develop confidence in the form and a small body of work.

 

There will be tutor-led analysis and feedback (with Alan Summers), with the ability to ask questions about your own and others' one-line haiku. The aim is to focus on each participant's work and its development over the sessions. Feedback also includes advice for those wishing to submit their work to literary journals.

 

We're keeping to a maximum of six people, so that despite the extreme brevity of this form, there is time to give everyone's work very close individual attention, in the spirit of pursuing 'excellency' in the work produced. 

 

Number of Sessions: 6

 

Class Size:  up to 6      

 

Cost: £192 (approximately US$266)

 

Booking

By booking you agree to accept our Terms and Conditions. Thank you!

The Pursuit of One-Line Haiku
192.00 GBP

A place on The Pursuit of One-Line Haiku starting Friday 24th September 2021. Thank you!

TPOLHSep2021

Visitor Counter

Click here for more info about the Chippenham's Chosen Words project.

We were on Sue Davies' show on BBC Radio Wiltshire (104.3FM) on Saturday 20th February, and will be again later in March, to talk about Chippenham's Chosen Words.

Newsletter Sign-Up

Please click here to sign up for occasional emails and newsletters from Call of the Page. Thank you!

PrintPrint | Sitemap
© Call of the Page